Peter Aitsi elected new Chairman of Transparency International PNG

Peter Aitsi elected new Chairman of Transparency International PNG

Saturday 22nd June 2019, Port Moresby – Transparency International PNG (TIPNG) has a new Chairman. He is Mr Peter Aitsi, MBE.  Though not new to the position, Mr Aitsi has been involved with TIPNG since 1999. He also served as Chairman from 2008 to 2010.

Also elected was the Secretary, Michelle Hau’ofa, Treasurer, Akae Beach and directors, Brian Alois, Belinda Kanau, Evah Kuamin, Philip Samar, Mary Udu, Jerome Sesega, Lawrence Stephens, Michael McWalter, Christopher Elphick, Philip Samar, Paul Barker and Richard Kassman.

The 2018 audited financial report was also presented at the AGM.

In welcoming the Board, the TIPNG Executive Director Ms Arianne Kassman emphasised to the Directors to ensure that they were entering into the role with the same passion and purpose that the TIPNG founder, Sir Anthomy Siaguru had when he established TIPNG 22 years ago.

TIPNG has recently developed a new Strategic Plan 2019-2013, with a refocused strategy to create a deeper sense of purpose and direction, renew TIPNG’s presence and brand and a reenergized team to inspire members and the community

TIPNG is a member of Transparency International a global anti- corruption movement committed to fighting corruption. TIPNG is an independent organization in PNG known as a Chapter of the international movement. The PNG chapter advocates against corruption and promotes transparency, good governance, honesty and accountability both in private and public sector dealings.  TIPNG tries to assist strengthen the integrity systems of our country such as the police, the parliament, the public services and the judiciary.

Download PDF here